Track News
February 9, 2024

NFL and NASCAR: A Winning Team

Share Article

Super Bowl Sunday will mark the end of the NFL season this weekend, but there is still plenty of action to look forward to at COTA this spring. With NASCAR returning to The Circuit March 22-24, let’s remind football fans of the pro-ballers who have impacted NASCAR over the years. 

Joe Gibbs

NFL Hall of Fame coach Joe Gibbs won three Super Bowls while leading the Washington Redskins and is the only coach to have won three championships with three different quarterbacks: Joe Theismann (XVII), Doug Williams (XXII) and Mark Rypien (XXVI). He’s translated his success to the track, and his Joe Gibbs Racing team has won 148 NASCAR Cup races and three Cup championships.  

Mark Rypien

The Super Bowl XXVI MVP Quarterback followed his coach Joe Gibbs’ footsteps and co-owned a NASCAR team that counted Kurt Busch and Chad Little among his drivers.

Les Richter

A Hall-of-Famer in both sports, Richter was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2009 and posthumously elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2011. He followed up his football success with an impressive tenure as a racing executive, including as manager of Riverside International Raceway for 24 years, VP of special projects for International Speedway Corporation, chairman of the board of International Race of Champions, and SVP of operations for NASCAR. 

Troy Aikman and Roger Staubach

With a name worthy of its ownership, Hall of Fame Racing did these two Dallas Cowboy legends proud. The team ran from 2006-2009 and kick started the career of champion driver Joey Logano.

Jerry Glanville

The former NFL Coach has diverse racing experience from Xfinity Series races, Craftsman Truck series races and ARCA Menards West and East races. Dale Earnhardt mentored Glanville before he hit the track!

Share Article